h1

The blood draw and the wait

July 20, 2009

I went this morning to have my blood drawn for my HCG levels. The lab tech gave me the usual gauze and tape over the withdrawal site, but when I got to work the guaze was soaked with blood! I guess the baby aspirin is thinning my blood. My boobs are aching today, and for a little bit I felt nauseous. Can these be side effects of the aspirin?

I’m at work. Jack thought I should call in sick since he’s worried, but being at work helps you feel like you’re doing something. I accomplished quite a bit which helped eat up 3 hours. I’m trying to figure out how to make it through the rest of the hours left. I mean, I have no choice in the matter. My cousin e-mailed that she’s calling tonight. Calls with her last an hour minimum so there’s an hour there. I have grocery shopping to do. Gotta cook dinner and clean up after. I might put my ipod on and go for a walk in my neighborhood. Harry Potter book 7 is sitting by my nightstand asking to be read again.

I hate that I’m wishing away the next 24+ hours. Life is precious and we’re not guarunteed a second of it, why waste it waiting for the next moment? Still, I’m allowing myself this time to be a little crazy. Today on the way to work I stopped at a stopsign and three little birds, all yellow breasted, so yellow you’d think God highlighted them, with dark black tails flew infront of my car, circled in harmony and then flew away. I’d never seen such birds before, my breath caught as I watched them fly away, continually in harmony, continually in motion. Inexplicably, I hoped it was a sign.

Waiting. It seems us IF sisters do a lot of that. You’d think we’d be experts at waiting. Somehow it does not get easier.

4 comments

  1. I’ve been thinking about you today.

    We’re all here for you, no matter the outcome.

    I wish you peace over these next few hours. *hugs*


  2. I’m so sorry for all the strain of waiting. Bless your heart, I just ache for you. But I’m sending lots of prayers and good thoughts your way!

    I would think the sore boobs and nausea were from the pregnancy! Asprin wouldn’t cause sore boobs, and not nausea unless you took ’em on an empty stomache. Even then I think it would take a lot. Sounds like pregnancy to me!

    Yay for cupcakes! 🙂


  3. Thanks guys for thinking of me. I will keep you posted. Your support means the world.


  4. sore boobs and nausea are totally pregnancy symptoms, i can’t believe they make you wait 24 hours for your results! i got mine from the lab once because my test was towards the end of the day and i didn’t want to wait until my doc’s office opened the next day.



Leave a Reply

