h1

Sunflower Hope

July 10, 2009

I recently went on vacation and we passed by rows and rows of sunflowers bright with their faces towards the sun. I love sunflowers and seeing the endless stretches of yellow fields made me smile. Then we came across a sunflower field that made me catch my breath.  I made Jack pull over to the side of the road so I could take a picture. It was a field of sunflowers scorched by the sun, heads downwards, leaves gone, their little bodies turning brown instead of the brilliant yellow I love. Except for one sunflower. One sunflower in a sea of thousands still alive and bright, its head up and facing the world despite the odds. When I saw this sunflower I I wrote in my journal: Wherever you look there are signs of  small miracles. This sunflower lives despite the odds against it with the scorching sun and its dead brethren. This sunflower is hope. I too can defeat the odds one day.  I don’t need to believe in a field of sunflowers, I just need one. Looking back at my journal entry and this picture gives me chills now. I wanted to share this with my IF sisters in the hope that perhaps it will inspire you too. As a beautiful commenter said in my last post: Hope must be stronger than fear.


9 comments

  1. Hi there. By Tx, I meant Treatment. 🙂


  2. What a beautiful symbol.


  3. Oh my gosh, I’ve never read a more beautiful post. I’m literally crying. Thank you for reminding us to have hope and of miracles that happen every day.


  4. wonderful pic! I love it! Thanks for sharing it!


  5. I don’t need to believe in a field of sunflowers, I just need one.

    Wonderful post!


  6. What a great post (and a chilling, inspiring photograph).

    You have the right idea, all the way. =)


  7. I’m glad this post meant something to you guys. Astrid *hugs* I am hoping you have a miracle of your own very very soon.


  8. […] breathe easy until we’re holding our baby in our arms. I just have to say I never thought my sunflower miracle would really be this miraculous. If this pregnancy succeeds her nursery is going to look like a […]


  9. […] and yellow, a huge sunflower frame. It transported me back to the field of dead sunflowers, and that one that remained alive and vibrant. My sunflower hope. I went to the register and told Jack when our […]



Leave a Reply

