h1

I do love my brother, I do.

June 8, 2009

My brother, four years my junior just got married. I’ve been married for seven years. I had plenty of time to beat him to the punch on having a kid. So far, no cigar. Here’s the thought I’m fighting: What if he has a baby before me? I love my brother so much and I want him to have kids if that is what he wants, but seriously the thought of him having a baby first makes me feel like the biggest loser in the history of losers. Unfortunately, knowing my track record, they may beat me to the punch. Part of me wants to ask him if they plan to have kids right away so I can be prepared, but at the same time, accidents happen for some lucky fertiles so asking would not do any good anyways.

I’m Alice in wonderland twirling down the rabbit hole. Two Week Waits turn the sanest of us a bit neurotic.

3 comments

  1. i’m going through the same thing with some good friends that just got married and some other friends who are just “talking” about having a 2nd kid. they will all likely stop talking about it, do it and make it happen before us. the thing that i try to remember is that it isn’t a competition. you both share the same goal of having a child and we have to focus on having our child and not on them having their child. easier said than done i know.


  2. My 5 years younger brother married and had a son before I even met the man I married. It was hard at first but I fell in love with my nephew right away and forgot all about it. Babies have a way of changing focus, I think. My brother just remarried, and I’m sure he and his wife will try for one. So now I’m back to wishing I could have one first … thought I beat this already. *sigh*


  3. It’s good to know I’m normal in feeling this way. Thanks for sharing your perspectives.



Leave a comment