h1

The Infertility Club

May 14, 2009

When I began writing about my miscarriage I felt consumed with my grief.  As I’ve read the blogs of others I realize how universal our unique pain is. At my lowest ebb I reached out to two bloggers who I knew had been in my shoes. They reached back with compassion. They never met me. We hardly communicated yet they responded with such kindness it felt like the embrace of a long lost friend. As I struggle to climb out of darkness and see the unique yet common struggles we all face, I am amazed at how we reach out to one another and support each other. We’re a club. A club of unwilling members, a club who would wish membership on no one, but will be there for you should fate choose you to join. Each of us share in the pain for we are tied by this thread of infertility and unfortunately for some of us we share a tighter thread of sharing the experience of losing a child we never got to know.

This is my place to write what I cannot say. This is my place to be vulnerable when I must seem strong. I thank the people who write about their pain and their journeys because it has comforted me more than anything ever could. I hope in expressing myself it does the same for you.

Thanks for reading the writings of a member of the infertility club, may you never ever have to join.

3 comments

  1. sadly, i’m a member of this club, too…but since we have to be in this club, i’m glad we’re in it together…sharing our experiences, our grief and our desires with each other and the rest of the club. thanks for your honesty; i daily look forward to reading your blog. l


  2. Amen!

    Thanks for reading, I enjoy reading yours and am honored you look forward to reading my blog 🙂


  3. It sucks being a member of this club, but at least we have good support within the club. I’ve been on this IF journey for over 2 years and felt hopeless. It’s just since I “outed” myself to my friends and family and started looking at IF bloggers that I’ve started coping a bit better with it all. It still sucks, but having the support of friends (virtual and non-virtual) makes all the difference in the world!



Leave a Reply

