h1

God and the certainty of mountains

April 26, 2009

I am sitting at a writing table in a chalet on Beaucroft Mountain in Asheville, NC. It is late at night and I am looking out the large window. This morning, during the day, I looked out and saw beautiful green mountains framing the window in every direction. I saw clearly the firm etching they made into the horizon. The Smoky Mountains as concerete and real as the fingers that type these words. Tonight at two o’clock in the morning I stare out in the darkness and see nothing. No sillohuette. No etching of mountain side. In this darkness, if I cannot see the mountains do the mountains still exist? As I consider this darkness while I struggle with a different darkness like a blanket over my soul I cannot tell you the truth with 100% conviction.

Leave a Reply

