h1

Trying to move on after a miscarriage

April 20, 2009

Some things that have helped me

1. Working out. I put on my ipod nano and just powerwalked on the treadmill without looking at the clock. Two hours later, I could have continued but for the blisters on my feet. I felt like I was in my own world in a parallel universe just immersed in the music, sweat dripping down my chin. It helped.

2. Talking about it.

3. Writing about it.

4. Crying about it.

5. Sleeping.

What did not help:

1. Retail therapy. I bought a coach purse (’twas on sale) but it did nothing for me. Material possessions cannot remedy the absence of a piece of your soul.

3 comments

  1. I did all the things that you listed, including purchasing a coach purse (that only made me feel guilty because my husband spent so much money trying to make me smile again). Working out is great, endorphines do make you happy.


  2. I’m sorry for your loss, I hope that things ended up working out for you, or at the least that you are feeling better now. I can’t seem to click on your site. If you have a blog I’d love to visit please comment with a link.


  3. I’m sorry for your loss too. Your site gave me comfort knowing I’m not alone in feeling like this. This is my site http://imadumpling.wordpress.com/ I just started a blog a couple days ago about food and cooking. I guess it’s my creative outlet. I am considering starting a blog about miscarriage soon too.



Leave a Reply

