h1

To Chart or not to Chart. That is the Question.

April 28, 2008

When I had asked my OB-GYN about charting and taking ovulation kits to test my prime fertility moments she had advised I not do this. “This will take all the joy out of conceiving and you will find yourself completely stressed out”.

Hmm…. but if I’m already there, does it hurt to go ahead and check and plot and outline? I don’t know. I heard that tracking your fertility can help you conceive easier, but at the same time, I know that if we were to do the BD every other day beginning 14 days after my cycle began, I’d have covered the days that the ovulation kit would indicate. So is there really a need? I’m not sure.

On one hand, charting your basal temperature, taking ovulation strips to determine prime fertility, and checking your Cervical Mucus regularly, gives you a sort of “something to do” while you wait, and can perhaps help you not be quite as emotional over the process as you simply get focused on the procedure and the methods. But at the same time, I don’t know if I want to do this yet.

Oh, and 36 days on my cycle with no AF. Not that I’m counting. Right.

One comment

  1. Day 36! … This is getting even more suspenseful than waiting for a new episode of LOST 😉

    Here’s hoping you don’t even have to worry about charting or not charting next month 🙂



Leave a Reply

