h1

About Me

April 22, 2008

I am a  former teacher turned lawyer married to the love of my life for the past six years. When we first got married the thought of getting pregnant filled me with panic. My husband and I were very young when we married and we wanted time to see the world together, get more education, and just get to know one another as well. In 2006, I decided I wanted to have a baby, but my hubby  [who I will call Jack] felt he just was not ready yet. As it takes two to tango, and I’m not on a soap opera where I poke holes in the condoms as melodramatic music plays in the background, I waited until he was ready.

January 2008, Jack decided that he too was finally ready to experience the miracle of life and to share our life with a baby.

In my misconceived notions of pregnancy, I thought “If you wish upon a star” a baby was born nine months later. Yes, I know where babies come from, but I thought the whole concept was straightforward: Boy meets girl. Boy does the baby dance with Girl. Girl has baby nine months later.

I am beginning to learn this is not the case. There are so many factors at play when it comes to getting pregnant. I never knew that it can take a year or longer to conceive. I never knew that you could only get pregnant a handful of days each month and that even those handful of times your odds are only 25% at best each try! For me this is particularly troubling since my periods are not the regular 28 day cycles.

In November 2009 a good doctor finally diagnosed me with PCOS [Polycystic Ovarian Syndrome]. I took metformin to balance my hormones and conceived in February. April 13, 2009 I lost my baby at 11 weeks.

I continue again on the road to conception, this time a little more battle weary, a broken heart splintering as I speak and pray that the next time will give me joy.

4 comments

  1. Hey, it’s me. I decided not to use my real name or give my blog URL just to help keep your identity hush-hush. LOL.

    So, if DH is Jack, are you Kate? LOL. (This is why I’m Sun. My DH can be Jin. Hee hee… I’m having too much fun.)

    If you thought you could gross me out with mucus down there, you’re going to have to try harder, my friend. I get mucus every single month – and I’ve already been through this process twice. Just wait until you have the baby and you get to deal with the umbilical cord falling off. Now THAT is icky.

    Fingers still crossed! {hugs}


  2. Oh – and BTW – This has always been one of my favorite WordPress templates/themes, too!


  3. ROFL………….. WOW….. I wonder now what my subconscious reasons were for picking the name JACK…… LOL!! I didnt even CONSIDER LOST when doing this. In that case, I should be Sun because she had all the baby drama, hmm!


  4. My husband and I tried for 2 years before finally conceiving. If you haven’t read it yet, I suggest the book “Taking Charge of Your Fertility.” My neighbor loaned it to me and called it the magic book because she conceived right after she read it. I read it and conceived the following month. I didn’t believe in magic until then! Plus, it’s a great book.



Leave a Reply

